The General Assembly is the strategic, decision-making, and supervisory body of APPEC. It is responsible for the general policy and the procedures of APPEC. Representatives of the General Assembly are appointed by their participating institution. The representatives are in general the directors of major astroparticle physics institutes or agencies, or managers of major national astroparticle physics programmes.

The Chairman of the General Assembly is elected by the General Assembly for two years. He is  “supra partes” and thus has no right to vote.

The Chairperson of the Scientific Advisory Committee and the General Secretary are often invited to attend meetings of the General Assembly without voting rights. Legal entities having acquired observer status attend the meeting of the General Assembly without voting rights.

The General Assembly meetings are organised on average twice a year.

Here are the current members of the General Assembly:

Frank Linde (GA Chair) Management_FrankLindeChairman
Thomas Berghöfer (General Secretary) Management_KatsanevasBerghoefer
Antonio Masiero (SAC Chair)
Stavros Katsanevas (APC)
Anne-Isabelle Etienvre (CEA)
Reynald Pain, Berrie Giebels (CNRS)
Christian Stegmann (DESY/BMBF)
Stan Bentvelsen/Job de Kleuver (NIKHEF/FOM)
Catherine DeClerq (FNRS)
Olivier Boehme (FWO)
Mirjana Eckert-Maksic, Tihomir Suric (HRZZ)
Nicolae-Victor Zamfir, Iliana Brancus, Livius-Marian Trache (IFIN-HH)
Fernando Ferroni (INFN)
Johannes Blümer (KIT/Helmholtz Association)
Bozena Czerny (NCBiR/NCN)
Luke Drury (DIAS/RIA)
Theresa Monteruli, Tristan Maillard (CHIPP/SNSF)
Janet Seed (STFC)
Lars Bergström (VR)
Andy Williams (ESO)
Mario Martinez (IFAE)
Antonio Bueno (University of Granada)
Panu Jalas (OSI)