Twitter bird

  • APPEC Roadmap Advert

The General Assembly

The General Assembly is the strategic, decision-making, and supervisory body of APPEC. It is responsible for the general policy and the procedures of APPEC. Representatives of the General Assembly are appointed by their participating institution. The representatives are in general the directors of major astroparticle physics institutes or agencies, or managers of major national astroparticle physics programmes.

The Chairman of the General Assembly is elected by the General Assembly for two years. He is  “supra partes” and thus has no right to vote.

The Chairperson of the Scientific Advisory Committee and the General Secretary are often invited to attend meetings of the General Assembly without voting rights. Legal entities having acquired observer status attend the meeting of the General Assembly without voting rights.

The General Assembly meetings are organised on average twice a year.

Here are the current members of the General Assembly:

Name Institution Country
Antonio Masiero (GA Chair) INFN Italy
Job de Kleuver (General Secretary) NWO Netherlands
Teresa Montaruli (GA Deputy Chair) Unige Switzerland
Catherine De Clerq FWO Belgium
Laurent Favart FNRS Belgium
Ivan Stekl IEAP-CTU Czech Republic
Panu Jalas OSI Finland
Anne-Isabelle Etienvre CEA France
Berrie Giebels CNRS IN2P3 France
Christian Stegmann DESY Germany
Johannes Blümer KIT Germany
Manolis Plionis NOA Greece
Luke Drury DIAS/RIA Ireland
Fernando Ferroni INFN Italy
Stan Bentvelsen Nikhef The Netherlands
Michiel van den Hout NWO The Netherlands
Mario Pimenta LIP Portugal
Nicolae Marius Marginean IFIN-HH Romania
Victor Matveev JINR Russia
Mario Martinez IFAE Spain
Antonio Bueno University of Granada Spain
Lars Bergström VR Sweden
Pascal Fischer SNSF Switzerland
Tony Medland STFC UK
Laura Baudis (Interim SAC Chair) SAC

Observers Institution
Jorgen d’Hondt ECFA
Eckard Elsen CERN
Andy Williams ESO
Ronald Stark NWO
Tihomir Suric HRZZ