Twitter bird

  • APPEC Roadmap Advert

APPEC elect new SAC Chair and Vice-chair

Laura Baudis, Professor of Physics at the University of Zurich has been appointed by the APPEC General Assembly as the new Chair of the APPEC Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) commencing in June 2018.

Laura Baudis (University of Zurich)

Professor Baudis was elected Chair of the SAC by representatives of the member countries of the group which coordinates research in Astroparticle Physics in Europe.

At the same General Assembly Jocelyn Monroe, from Royal Holloway University London, was elected Deputy Chair.

Speaking of her appointment Professor Baudis said “Thank you for your trust; I am of course very honoured by the GA decision to appoint me as chair of SAC for two years.

“I look forward to working together with all of you, as well as with Jocelyn and the renewed SAC towards the challenging task of implementing the APPEC roadmap recommendations.”

APPEC Chair and former SAC chair Professor Antonio Masiero welcomed the appointments and said “We are really happy that Laura and Jocelyn have kindly accepted to act as chairwoman and vice chairwoman, respectively, of our renewed SAC.

“The SAC is going to play a crucial role in the major challenge we’re tackling in this period of APPEC activities, namely the implementation of the roadmap

Jocelyn Monroe (RHUL)


As part of International Women’s day 2018, Corinne Mosese spoke to Laura about what inspired her to go into physics and her advice for young girls considering their career choices. Find out more here:


Laura Baudis joined the Physics Department at the University of Zurich in August 2007 as a full professor in experimental physics. She received her PhD from the University of Heidelberg in 1999 and went on to become a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University, where she worked on the Cryogenic Dark Matter Search experiment. In 2004, she moved to the University of Florida, Gainesville, as an assistant professor, where she started to work on detectors using liquefied xenon (the first stage in the XENON programme, XENON10). In 2006, she was awarded the Lichtenberg Professorship for Astroparticle Physics at the RWTH, Aachen University. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), a member of the CERN Science Policy Committee and an Editor-in-chief of the European Physical Journal C. In 2017, she was awarded an ERC Advanced Grant for the Xenoscope project.

Jocelyn Monroe joined the RHUL Physics Department in 2011, founding the Dark Matter & Neutrino research group within the Centre for Particle Physics.  From 2009 she was an Assistant Professor in the MIT Physics Department.  From 2006-09 she was a Pappalardo Fellow in MIT’s Laboratory for Nuclear Science, working on the SNO solar neutrino oscillation experiment and as a founding member of the DMTPC project. Monroe earned her Ph.D. from Columbia University in 2006, where her dissertation research was on the MiniBooNE accelerator neutrino oscillation experiment. From 1999-2000, she was an Engineering Physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, where her research was on the physics of muon beam cooling. Monroe earned her B.A. in Astrophysics from Columbia University in 1999.